Skip to product information
1 of 2
Katharine Beutner

Killingly

Killingly

ISBN: 9781838959234

In stock

Regular price Rs.1,120.00
Regular price Sale price Rs.1,120.00
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Based on the unsolved real-life disappearance of a university student in 1897, a haunting gothic thriller of longing and terror. Perfect for fans of Camilla Bruce, Stacey Halls, Laura Purcell and Bridget Collins.

*FEATURED ON LIT HUB'S TOP CRIME NOVELS TO LOOK OUT FOR IN 2023*

'A story of women who defy strict rules, Killingly is a gripping novel of intrigue and surprising twists' Kate Manning, author of My Notorious Life

The young women at Mount Holyoke College are famed for their beauty and virtue - except for Agnes and Bertha. With their strange dresses, scholarly pursuits and intimate friendship, these two students are considered peculiar.

One autumn morning, Bertha vanishes, leaving Agnes to wander the cold university halls alone.

As a search team dredges the pond where Bertha might have drowned, an investigation into her disappearance begins. Agnes might know the truth, but she is being unhelpfully tight-lipped, inciting the suspicions of Bertha's family, the students at Mount Holyoke, and the detective hired for the case. As secrets from Bertha and Agnes's lives begin to surface, so do the competing agendas driving each person who is searching for her.

What happened to Bertha? Who would want to hurt her? And could she still be alive?

PRAISE FOR KILLINGLY:

'A superb novel, suffused with dread, riddled with covert motivations and desires, reckoning with painful secrets, artfully rendering the myriad facets of this mysterious case while bearing witness to the sacrifices many women have made to live-and die-authentically' Elizabeth McKenzie, author of The Dog of the North

'Killingly moves deliberately, achingly, through one young woman's disappearance in 1897 . . . Extraordinary fiction. Now, more than ever, we need to know the truth this story reveals' Julia Phillips, author of National Book Award Finalist Disappearing Earth
View full details